The present board was elected at the Annual Meeting of the association on October 7, 2016, at the GSA conference in Atlanta, GA. The association is an institutional member of the GSA.


President: Gary B. COHEN, professor of modern Central European history, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
(until September 2018)

Vice President: Ilana OFFENBERGER, associate professor in the history department, University of Massachusetts – Dartmouth, MA
(to become president in September 2018)

Immediate Past President: Liz AMETSBICHLER, University of Montana, Missoula, MT
(until September 2018)


Secretary/Treasurer: Michael Bryant, Professor of History and Legal Studies, Bryant University

(appointed for the period 2017-2022)



Present members of the board:

Robert von DASSANOWSKY, Professor of German and Film, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, CO
(until October 2019)

Eva KUTTENBERG, Penn State at Erie, The Behrend College, Erie, PA
(until October 2020)

Margarete LAMB-FAFFELBERGER, Lafayette College, Easton, PA
(until October 2020);

Dagmar LORENZ, professor in the Judaic Studies department, University of Illinois at Chicago, IL
(until September 2018)

Howard P. LOUTHAN, professor, College of Liberal Arts at the University of Minnesota, director of the Center for Austrian Studies, Minneapolis, MN
(until September 2018)

Lisa D. SILVERMAN, associate professor of history and Jewish studies at University of Wisconsin Milwaukee, WI
Lisa Silverman
(until October 2019)

Felix TWERASER, Professor of History, University of West Georgia, Carrollton, GA
(until October 2019)

Peter UTGAARD, Dean of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences at Grossmont–Cuyamaca Community College, El Cajon, CA
(until September 2018)

Janek WASSERMAN, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL
(until October 2020).


And, ex officio (without voting privileges):

Gerhard BAUMGARTNER (represented permanently by Winfried R. GARSCHA), Documentation Center of Austrian Resistance, Vienna, Austria
Gerhard Baumgartner, Friedl Garscha

Christine MOSER, director, Austrian Cultural Forum, New York, NY (may be represented temporarily by Christian Joseph EBNER, Deputy Director)
ACFNY director

Luza Prize Committee 2017-2020

Günter BISCHOF, professor of history; director, Center Austria: The Austrian Marshall Plan Center for European Studies, University of New Orleans

Gerald FETZ, dean and professor of German emeritus, University of Montana, Missoula, MT

Winfried R. GARSCHA, Austrian Research Agency for Post-war Justice at the Documentation Center of Austrian Resistance, Vienna (ex officio)